01274 414126 office@thorpe.bradford.sch.uk

Welcome to Year 3

Our teacher is Miss McTasney  and our teaching assistant is Miss Brotherton.

Support for Home Schooling

Each week, I will set new work tasks for children in Year 3 to complete.

This will always include some spelling work through Spelling Shed, some maths times tables on TT Rockstars, and reading, maths and GPS tasks on the I Am Learning website. Please go to these sites and complete the work I set you each week. I can view the activities that you complete, and can also respond to messages on the I Am Learning website if you need to ask me anything.

I will also use this page on the website to share additional tasks for reading, writing and maths if you want to do anything extra or if you have finished the tasks on the previous websites. However, please do not feel under pressure to complete all of these tasks too – these are, as I have said, optional extras!

I will be able to view how your child is getting on with the spelling and timetable work and you can always email me any work you would like me to view/mark by sending it office@thorpeprimary.co.uk.

Thank you as always for your support during this difficult time.

Week Beginning: 25/ 05/ 2020              Spring Bank Half-Term

I would like to say well done to the following children who have completed the tasks set on I Am Learning last week:

 Harry Evans, Alex Jarvis,  Francesca Saunders and Lilly Wright.

Congratulations to Archie Key too, who is still top of the Year 3 league on Spelling Shed as of Friday 22nd May. Well done to Alex Jarvis, Seth Robinson, Charlie Bennett, Mason Greenwood and Lilianna Wanat who are on his tail! Can they (or anybody else) catch him?

Outdoor Activities This Half-Term

  

This half-term, I would like you to put your pens and pencils down and have a break from online learning. It is forecast to be sunny and dry for the half-term so why not head down to the river, canal or the woods and do some wildlife watching? Click the links below to print out Wildlife Spotter sheets. Can you find them all? Are there any not on there that you have spotted?

Perhaps you might want to have a go at the Nature Treasure Hunt sheet? Or maybe even make your own treasure hunt? Please take a photograph of what you do and share it with me.

Let me know by telling me all about what you have seen on the I Am Learning website or by emailing the school office at office@thorpeprimary.co.uk. I would love to know what you spot!

yellow springtime flowers spotter sheet

woodland butterfly spotter

Nature treasure hunt

My Recommended Read

Each week, I will recommend a different book that I have been enjoying and that you may want to read too.

My top read this week is:

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is one of my favourite Roald Dahl stories. In the story, our central character, Charlie Bucket lives in poverty with his family and grandparents, but one day his life takes an exciting turn when he discovers a much sought-after Golden Ticket and wins the opportunity to visit Mr Willy Wonka’s enchanted chocolate factory! The descriptions of the rooms within the factory and of the fantastical sweets are mouthwatering and magical – there is the Chocolate River  and  the Invention Room and sweets such as luminous lollies and hair toffee. For any chocolate lovers out there and indeed, any Roald Dahl fans, this is the book for you!

Have you enjoyed any books recently that you would like to recommend to others? Let me know and you could be the star of this page, sharing your recommended read with the rest of Year 3!

Week Beginning: 18/ 05/ 2020

Reading

https://en.fictionexpress.com/books/

Go to the Fiction Express website and read Chapter 3.  After reading, see if you can answer the following questions:

* Find and copy two verbs that explain how Dev’s clothes are ruined.

* What is the main thing that Prince Dev notices when he leaves the palace gates?

* How does Mr Gold plan to use Dev to get money?

Writing

Read the story starter above from the website Pobble. Can you continue the story in your own words? What had the children discovered? How did they feel when they saw it? Did they discover any other exciting relics? What happened next?

Here is the link to the website Pobble where you can find this lesson.

https://app.pobble.com/lessons/preview/d924632c

Maths

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/tags/zmyxxyc/year-3-and-p4-lessons/1

Each week, the BBC Bitesize website produces daily lessons for each year group. If you are wanting to do some extra maths work, I would definitely recommend going on to this website and having a go at the daily lessons. Monday’s lesson starts with understanding fractions. This supports the fractions tasks that I have set for you on the I Am Learning website.

My Recommended Read

Each week, I will recommend a different book that I have been enjoying and that you may want to read too.

My top read this week is:

This classic book is the third in a series of books by the well-loved author Enid Blyton. In this magical tale, the children introduce their friend Connie to the folk of the Faraway Tree, including Saucepan Man, Moonface and Silky the fairy. The friends go on brilliant adventures to lots of enchanted lands such as The Land of Giants, The Land of Tea Parties and The Land of Treats! Let me know if you read this book and if you enjoy it.

Have you enjoyed any books recently that you would like to recommend to others? Let me know and you could be the star of this page, sharing your recommended read with the rest of Year 3!

Messages

  • I would like to say well done to the following children who completed tasks set on I Am Learning last week:

Alfie Bates, Harry Evans, Alex Jarvis, Archie Key and Francesca Saunders.

  • Congratulations to Archie Key too, who is currently top of the Year 3 league on Spelling Shed with a score of 254, 685, 296 as of Sunday 17th May!!! Can anybody catch him?

 

Week Beginning: 11/ 05/ 2020

Reading

If you are looking for an extra reading activity this week, you can log on to Fiction Express using the log-in I have given you. If you have forgotten your log-in, email the school office at office@thorpeprimary.co.uk and I will send you your log-in details again.

The book I would like you to click on and read is called The Pampered Prince. This is a brand new book so at the moment, only Chapters 1 and 2 have been released.. This week, please read Chapters 1 and 2 and then after you have read these, vote on what you think will happen next and also complete the online quiz. If you would like to complete further tasks, there is an activity booklet that you can download with further questions and tasks.

https://en.fictionexpress.com/book/pampered-prince/

Writing

This week, I would like you to imagine that you could wish for anything! I would like you to use your imagination and produce a poem listing all the things you would love to wish for. The things you wish for can be real or fictional, or both!

I would like you to use your senses too, e.g. I wish I could touch, I wish I could hear, see, taste and smell.

To make your writing stand out and capture my imagination, try to use powerful verbs and adjectives, as well as prepositional phrases to show me where, e.g. in the rainforest, under the ocean, through the starlit sky, etc.

Here is an example below and a link to a website with other examples.

Archie’s Wishes

I wish I was a monkey,

Jumping from the trees

I wish I could hear electricity,

Crackling in the distance

I wish I could touch the sun’s brightness,

Shining like a torch in the darkness

I wish I could walk on the moon,

Bouncing up and down

I wish I could taste a chocolate waterfall

As it poured into a lake of greed

I wish I could score the winning goal

For Chelsea in the cup final

https://tfwconsulting.wixsite.com/jamiethomas/post/day-15-wishes-creative-ideas-for-teaching-english-and-maths-at-home

Don’t forget to send me examples of your writing, either by emailing the school office or by sharing them on Twitter and tagging @ThorpeBradford in the post.  I can’t wait to read them!

Maths

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/dailylessons

Each week, the BBC Bitesize website produces daily lessons for each year group. If you are wanting to do some extra maths work, I would definitely recommend going on to this website and having a go at the daily lessons. Monday’s lesson starts with multiplying and dividing by 8. This builds on the times table and division tasks that I have set on the I Am Learning website.

My Recommended Reads

Each week, I will recommend a different book that I have been enjoying and that you may want to read too.

My top read this week is:

I really enjoyed this first book in the Willow Moss series as it was funny and I loved the different magical worlds and characters. From trolls and witches, to dragons and kobolds, this book has it all! It is perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, Harry Potter and How to Train Your Dragon. If you read this book, let me know what you think.

 

Have you read any great books recently while you have been at home? Let me know and you could be the star of this page, sharing your recommended read with the rest of Year 3!

 

Curriculum Newsletters

Below you can find our curriculum newsletter which details the topics we will be learning about this term.

Year 3 Curriculum Newsletter Spring 2020

Year 3 Curriculum Newsletter Aut 2019

Y3 curriculum letter summer 2019

 

End of Year Expectations for Year 3

 

Key Stages 1 & 2 National Curriculum

The National Curriculum is followed in Key Stages 1 and 2. This curriculum covers Maths, English, Science, Computing, History, Geography, Art, DT, PSHE, Music and PE. KS2 children are also taught a modern foreign language (Spanish).

You can find more information on the following website:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-primary-curriculum

 

Summer Term

English – The Black Hat

In our English lessons, we have been watching a short film called The Black Hat, which is a story about a little boy who finds a magical hat in the forest one day. We decided to write our own stories based upon The Black Hat. Have a read of some below and let us know if you enjoy them!

  

  

Summer Term School Disco

Year 3 had a fantastic time at the summer term school disco in May. We all enjoyed ‘letting our hair down’ and having a good ‘boogie’!

   

 

Science – Light and Dark

In our science lessons, we have been investigating the topic, Light and Dark. So far, we have looked at different sources of light and we have also conducted an experiment to find out which materials are the most reflective. This week, we have discussed how to stay safe in the sun and we have produced posters using our computing skills to share what we have learnt.